Bit-O-Stead

Just as Wheelie offers this jaw-breaking confection in Rebecca Stead’s Newbery winner When You Reach Me, so I’m offering a few bits too. (Mine are far less cavity-inducing though.)

“For me, as a kid, a book was a very private world,” she said. “I didn’t like talking about books with other people very much because it almost felt like I didn’t want other people to be in that world with me.”

From The Book Club With Just One Member

I believe–and this is not an original idea from me–that really strong writing yields more every time you read it.

From Rebecca Stead Asks the Big Questions

Optimism doesn’t come easily to me, but it’s a quality I strive for.

From Meet Rebecca Stead

I like the here and now. Imperfect as the world is, I do think we’re at least kind of groping in the right direction.

From Five Questions for Rebecca Stead

“Kids are not quite as independent at that age anymore,” she says. “From age nine, my friends and I were on the streets, walking home, going to each other’s houses, going to the store. I really wanted to write about that: the independence that’s a little bit scary but also a really positive thing in a lot of ways. And I’m not sure that most kids have that today.”

From Time Out for Kids New York

7 Comments

Filed under Newbery

7 responses to “Bit-O-Stead

  1. Lovely! Thanks for compiling these.

  2. Children and us folks interested in working with those children are so lucky to have Stead now “out there” officially and in the public eye helping us look realistically at the world in which our children really exist.

  3. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I re-read WHEN YOU REACH ME on Sunday before the awards were given. The re-read was amazing. It definitely “yielded more” on the second read. If you haven’t seen this interview at Kids Random, you’ll love it. I learned how to pronounce her name…Stead is short e…like Sted. Also she shares about how she came to write the story…the story behind the story! Can’t wait to check out all of your connections.

  4. Thanks for a fun post! I especially liked the last quote. Now that is a good reason for setting a book in the past, instead of the present.

  5. Pingback: Fusenews: The Case of the Unwitting Albino « A Fuse #8 Production

Leave a Reply

