SleepVolking a la Jack Gantos

Yesterday one of my 4th grade students was reading the ARC of Dead End in Norvelt (choosing it over the also-on-display hardcover) and came over to ask me what sleepVolking is. I suggested it was Mrs. Volker’s wit on display and then wondered if it was in the final book. (Unfortunately all my copies are at school and I’m at home so I can’t give a direct quote or page number — maybe someone else can though.) He went off to check and then returned showing me that it wasn’t. Now I suppose this story supports the decision to change it to plain-old sleepwalking, but once we discussed the idea that it was Mrs. Volker’s dry humor he enjoyed as much as I did. So I get why it was changed, but just wanted to say we LOVE sleepVolking!

1 Comment

Filed under Other

One response to “SleepVolking a la Jack Gantos

  1. Amy MacDonald

    It reminds me of when the German translator of one of my books (No More Nasty) wrote me to ask what “How does your corporosity seem to gashiate?” meant (a question I’m often asked by 4th graders), and how to translate it. I had to tell her they were made up words, rather whimsical made up words, and since the German language has little whimsicality to it, she had her work cut out for her.

    But I find “SleepVolking” to be a very whimisical and even Germanic sounding word. Love it!

Leave a Reply

