medinger:

On Father’s Day I think of mine…

Originally posted on educating alice:

My father, who passed away three years ago, continues to be a major inspiration for me.  In honor of him and the day here is a post from a few years back that captures a tiny bit of what he was all about.

Born in Frankfurt, Germany in 1922, my father Lewis J. Edinger fled with his mother to America at the age of fourteen; his father chose to stay, hoping to ride things out, but was deported and killed. Years later, as a newly minted PhD, my father took whatever jobs he could find; one of those was in Montgomery, Alabama at the time of the bus boycott.  I was reminded of this at yesterday’s event with Claudette Colvin and so here are some excerpts from my father’s memoir about that time in his life.

I got my haircuts at Maxwell Air Force Base from a black barber with…

View original 884 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Other

Leave a Reply

