In the Classroom: The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp Come Alive (sort of).

My 4th graders enjoyed my reading aloud Kathi Appelt’s latest, The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp (my take on it is here) and so when some of them were at loose ends, having finished a big project their peers were still working on, I suggested they make a mural of the book.  (I love making book murals! See the one we did of The Graveyard Book and this one of When You Reach Me.) After talking through a few ideas, I left them to it. After a… er…redolent day when they used undiluted  mod podge to create  a swampy background, they drew and cut and researched (old cars) and just had fun sticking in their favorite elements of the book.  For a bit more about it and Kathi’s visit to our classroom, check out this post on our public 4th grade project blog.

truebluescotsmural

1 Comment

Filed under In the Classroom

One response to “In the Classroom: The True Blue Scouts of Sugar Man Swamp Come Alive (sort of).

  1. Hi, I do think this is an excellent blog. I stumbledupon it ;) I am going
    to return once again since i have saved as
    a favorite it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be rich and
    continue to guide other people.

Leave a Reply

