Ashley Bryan

image022

Ashley Bryan is the winner of the 2009 Laura Ingalls Wilder Award honoring an author or illustrator, published in the United States, whose books have made a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children.

Ashley taught at my school long before I came, but continues to come for visits.  In fact, one year the third grade interviewed him and wrote his biography.  We got to know each other even better over the years when we together attended the annual CLNE summer institutes.  (The image above is from the one in 2006.)   Just last May I was at a CLNE colloquy and well recall standing around a bonfire being led by Ashley in poetry recitation.

This past Wednesday our school celebrated Ashley’s own telling of his story, Words to My Life’s Song.  A high school a capella group sang the three spirituals from Let It Shine, I presented my class’s reading of Beautiful Blackbird (you can hear a podcast of this here), and Ashley spoke and recited and led us as only he can.

We are all so lucky to know Ashley in person, through his books, and through his being.

3 Comments

Filed under Children's Literature, Poetry

3 responses to “Ashley Bryan

  1. What a fortunate position for you and your school! I would be overcome with delight at the chance to see and hear him read poetry. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  2. I was blessed to see this man in San Francisco one year at USF, where he came to speak at a multicultural conference. Oh, I felt SO privileged to stand and sway t his poetry, and enjoy the dance of the colors of his artwork. I want to buy EVERY SINGLE ONE of his books and just enjoy them. I’m working on it!

    Thank you for reviving my own memory of him. He’s such a splendid artist, and an inspiring person to me. *gush* Yes. I’m a huge fan!

    Like

  3. I was blessed to see this man in San Francisco one year at USF, where he came to speak at a multicultural conference. Oh, I felt SO privileged to stand and sway t his poetry, and enjoy the dance of the colors of his artwork. I want to buy EVERY SINGLE ONE of his books and just enjoy them. I’m working on it!

    Thank you for reviving my own memory of him. He’s such a splendid artist, and an inspiring person to me. *gush* Yes. I’m a huge fan!

    Like

Leave a Reply

