In the Classroom: Amistad Poetry

Central to my unit on forced immigration (part of our yearlong study of immigration) is the Amistad Affair.  After reading and discussing Veronica Chambers’ Amistad Rising picture book I have my students read my to-be-published book, Africa is My Home: The Story of Sarah Margru Kinson.  That is followed by a look at some poetry related to the event, most notably those of Elizabeth Alexander‘s.

After a wonderful time last week looking closely at several of Elizabeth’s poems the class created a found poem of their own (inspired by Elizabeth’s “Other Cargo.”). You can read it here.  Now they are working on their own poems. When they are published (on their individual blogs), I’ll be sure to let you all know.

1 Comment

Filed under Africa, Amistad, In the Classroom, Poetry

One response to “In the Classroom: Amistad Poetry

  1. c18gi

    And what a very intelligent, moving book it was. After reading this book, I immediately dug through my “memory” box, grabbed the book, and diligently read through it. It reminded me what an amazing author you are Ms. Edinger!

    Like

Leave a Reply

