Barry Jonsberg’s The Categorical Universe of Candice Phee

Barry Jonsberg’s The Categorical Universe of Candice Pheean Australian import, is one fabulous book.  I’d had the ARC for quite a while, but it took Betsy Bird’s rave review to finally get me to read it and I’m so glad I did. Twelve-year-old Candice is one of those delightful singular narrators — she is definitely different, but not in a way that can be nicely and conveniently categorized.  Classmates term her SN for special needs, but there is no sense that she is being provided any special support at all. She tells her story clearly, without discomfort, with thought, and with delightful humor. Her family is struggling emotionally for many good reasons, but Candice is keeping going even as her parents are barely able to do so. Candice knows herself, she knows she is different, and is completely comfortable with that. Occasionally there is a tinge of Pollyanna in her, say when she is paired for a school project with the classmate who seems to hate her most. Candice both knows Jen detests her and thinks that they will be great friends because of the project. Does the latter prevail? Sort of and sort of not. Read the book to see.

Jonsberg’s writing is a dream. He has structured the book as a school assignment Candice is given — to write an abecedarian  autobiography — one paragraph for each letter. Our girl takes it and runs with it, letting us know at the beginning that she is tossing the one paragraph rule, giving each letter a full chapter instead.  She loves the dictionary and Dickens and it shows. Hers (or rather Jonsberg’s) ability to write a scene is just delightful. I dare you not to be moved by those with her parents. Or intrigued by those with Douglas Benson from Another Dimension. Then there are those passages where Candice ruminates, say about trying to get her fish to become an atheist. Or about the death of her baby sister. Or about her Rich Uncle Brian. I’m a teacher so I have to say I adored Candice’s, Miss Bamford.  She just appreciates Candice and I appreciate her, pirate attire and all. (Read the book to see what that is all about.)

So go find and read this book — it is terrific.

Coda: The SLJ reviewer wrote,  “This is a strong readalike for Counting by 7s (Dial, 2013) and Out of My Mind(S. & S., 2010.”  I have to say this makes me very uncomfortable as it suggests there is a category of books of different, so identified because of unusual personality or severe physical differences. The girls in each of these books are each such distinctive individuals, their situations are not the same, and the writing is not the same.  The idea that young readers would read all three for the same reason disturbs me — it suggests they are looking for books about kids who are not them, who are fascinated by their differences. Sure they will admire these three girls, but why throw them together this way?

 

5 Comments

Filed under Review

5 responses to “Barry Jonsberg’s The Categorical Universe of Candice Phee

  1. I’m the one who wrote the SLJ article and I’m sorry that my recommendation came across that way as it was not my intention at all.

    In all three books, I saw a strong female protagonist who was sensitive and insightful, using skills that others may have interpreted as weaknesses to create positive change in her environment. For example, the way in which Willow challenged Dell to become a real adult, Candice’s calculated impact on her mother’s sadness, and Melody’s ability to challenge her classmates’ assumptions about her intelligence.

    My school’s student population has shown a need for characters like this and students in the upper grades have responded well to female-centric perseverance tales, which may have also colored my review.

    Like

  2. On the other hand, readers with disabilities, like myself, need more three-dimensional, well-written characters in kidlit. We’ll see ourselves reflected in the experiences of all three of these books, and I can see how that would be valuable.

    Monica, would you say this is more middle grade or more YA? I would have no trouble giving Out of My Mind to a fifth grader, but would hesitate with Counting By Sevens.

    (Thanks for your encouragement to read this, by the way; Betsy’s review didn’t quite nudge me all the way, but yours did.)

    Like

    • I definitely agree with you on wanting to see more 3-D and complex characters; it was putting such different books and situations together that wasn’t working for me.

      As for this one, think it is probably a tad above my reading it aloud to my 4th grade students, but I could see a 5th grader appreciating it. No sex or language, just a bit complex and deep — in a good way.

      Would love to know what you think of it.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Additions to Kid Lit Navigator for 8/30/2014 | Kid Lit Navigator

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s