Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen’s Sam & Dave Dig a Hole

It wasn’t love at first sight, but now I am completely and utterly smitten with Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen’s Sam & Dave Dig a HoleI had taken a quick look when I received it, but then last Friday at the very end of the day, after having seen Travis Jonker’s post of theories about the ending, I read it aloud to my 4th graders and all hell broke loose. You want theories? My class had them in spades. I had to practically shove them out the door — on a Friday, mind you!  And then yesterday, having decided to use the book in a project (hopefully something I will be able to share here) I asked them to repeat their theories for a colleague. They went even further this time. One theory generated another one and another and another. I’ve one boy who has his theory divided up into 7 volumes (that is what he calls them). Their theories involve alternative universes, wormholes, gravitational pull, dreamlands, dog-as-god, and more. And so, yeah — I’ve fallen for it hook, line, and sinker.

K.T. Horning clued me in to this charming video of Jon filling a bookstore window with dirt, of course.

And if you haven’t seen the official book trailer, that is adorable too.

5 Comments

Filed under Other

5 responses to “Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen’s Sam & Dave Dig a Hole

  1. I love that bookstore! It is very close to the home of a friend of mine in London. They have wonderful staff and sponsor a local children’s book award!

    Like

  2. Ha – you’ve FALLEN for it! Good one… =)

    Like

  3. I’m just thrilled that they used Burl Ives as background music.

    Like

  4. I think my reaction to the book was the same as yours. The more I read it, the more I see the genius. I love that you shared it with students and it got their wheels turning

    Like

  5. Pingback: Thoughts on Newbery: The Day After (and El Deafo Redux) | educating alice

Leave a Reply

