A New Online Annotated Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

I’m a fan of annotating books. Marginalia fascinates me. For decades I’ve introduced my 4th graders to the joy of close reading and annotating by way of Charlotte’s Web. And for my Alice in Wonderland unit I’ve depended very much on Gardner’s annotated edition. In fact, one year I had the kids do their own annotations for the book — they enjoyed doing that tremendously. And so I was delighted to see The Public Domain Review and Medium‘s cool project, an online annotated Alice. They describe it thus:

This collection celebrates the 150th anniversary of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. It includes an annotated edition of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, commissioned by Medium and created by The Public Domain Review with the assistance of twelve curators, listed below. New chapters will be published on Tuesdays and Thursdays for six weeks beginning July 28. We’re also inviting you to build and share your very own edition of the book on Medium, using the copyright-free text and illustrations we’ve gathered here, your own original art and remixes.

In addition to the annotations there are very cool “remixes” of Tenniel’s original art. Go here to see a list of the scholar curators. Highly recommended.

1 Comment

Filed under Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

One response to “A New Online Annotated Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

  1. This is super cool!!!! I will definitely use this with my college students. I teach a January class on Oxford and fantasy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

