Frances Hardinge Gets Her Due!

US Frances Hardinge fans have been continually frustrated that she is not better appreciated on this side of the pond. On the other side…well, here’s a lovely bit of news — her latest book The Lie Tree has just been awarded the Costa Award’s Book of the Year. She is the first children’s book writer to win the overall award (over adult finalists) since Philip Pullman over a decade ago.

Happily The Lie Tree is coming out this May in the US thanks to Abrams. I can say that it is fabulous, my favorite of all her books to date, and well deserving of the award. It is historical, mysterious, creepy, engrossing, and wonderful. Now I am just hoping Abrams will bring out an earlier book of hers I also liked very much, A Face Like Glass.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Other

2 responses to “Frances Hardinge Gets Her Due!

  1. Emma Otheguy

    Oh I love Frances Hardinge. A Face Like Glass is my favorite from what I’ve read, but I also loved Gullstuck Island. I think she’s easily the most original fantasy author I’ve ever read, and her books feel so rich and deep.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.