I Get to Select Someone Awesome

I don’t think I’ve mentioned here yet that I’m a member of the 2018 Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Committee. I was surprised and delighted when invited as I had thought ALA committees like this were out of bounds for me given my hope to have another book under contract one of these days. But there is no problem with this committee as far as that goes and so I’m on it! I’m very excited to be working with my fellow committee members: chair Betsy Bird, Timothy Capehart, Wendy Lukehart, and Sharon McKellar. Quite a group, right?

Our specific charge:

To choose annually an individual of distinction who shall prepare and present a paper which shall be a significant contribution to the field of children’s literature; to select a host institution and make appropriate arrangements for the presentation of the lecture; to arrange for publication of lecture in children and libraries.

I’ve been trying to think far and wide for potential speakers: people from all aspects of this world (creators, scholars, editors, and others), within and beyond our shores. If you have a suggestion go here to submit your nomination by June 20th. Our choice will be announced at Midwinter in January and then will come our second task — selecting the location for the speech.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Other

One response to “I Get to Select Someone Awesome

  1. Splendid. Selznick’s speech this year was breathtaking. Please deliver.

    Like

Leave a Reply

