Thinking About Identity Labeling

A few days ago I was struck by Lisa Selin Davis’s New York Times Op-Ed, “My Daughter is Not Transgender. She’s a Tomboy.” It captured for me the need we seem to have to get young people identified and then label that identity. Often kids who, in my experience, are exploring and trying out identities as they figure out what they want to be.

Then a few days later I read Chase Strangio’s thought-provoking response, “An Open Letter to Those Praising the New York Times ‘Tomboy’ Piece.” And I realize yet again how incredibly complex our current world is as we work to support evolving identity from every side.

I’m still reading, listening, learning, watching and thinking about all of this. Hope you all are too!

1 Comment

Filed under Other

One response to “Thinking About Identity Labeling

  1. Thanks for sharing these links, Monica. It’s all so complex, and thought-provoking. I, too, (as the mom of a little girl who loves dresses but prefers pirates and ninjas to princesses and fairies) worry sometimes about the rush to label based on what in some cases are just kids trying things out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

