Diana Wynne Jones: An Appreciation

One of the great, great, great writers of fantasy is no longer with us. For so many of us who love this genre, there was no one more esteemed than Diana Wynne Jones.  Not only did she explore a wide range of the genre, but she did so happily, wittily, intelligently, and most uniquely.  There was and will be no one like her. I haven’t read all that she wrote, but those stories of hers that I know and love tend to involve bumblings and mix-ups, domestic complications, cranky yet endearing magicians, and a completely original and wonderful view of the world.  In her stories,  the fate of the universe may be at stake, but humanity still blunders about. It is this endless imagination, creativity, wit, and warmth that make her one of the greats in my pantheon of writers of any genre.

I’m sure there will be many more articulate appreciations to come, but for those unfamiliar with the brilliant work of this woman, here are a few of my favorites.

For whatever reason one of my go-to comfort books is Howl’s Moving Castle. There is that marvelous floating castle filled with the sort of magical domesticity that Jones excels at.  There is a heroine I completely identified with — capable Sophie who spends most of the story transformed into an old woman. There is the wonderful Calcifer, a fire demon, and of course the remarkable wizard, Howl, one of the great romantic heroes of fantasy literature.  Smart, irritable, and ultimately capable too, Howl is a brilliant and utterly Jones’ hero. The plot is also typical Jones, complicated and intriguing and difficult to summarize so I won’t bother. Instead I urge you to read the book for yourself. The great Japanese filmmaker, Hayao Miyazaki, made a film version which is gorgeous, but very much its own thing, distinct from Jones’ book in numerous ways.  There are also two subsequent books with many of the same characters, Castle in the Air and House of Many Ways.

I’m just a tad too old to have encountered Jones as a child so it was as a young teacher that I first did by way of her divine Chrestomanci books.  While there is a chronology to the stories (the first being Charmed Life), I read them out of order and it mattered not a whit.  They are based around Chrestomanci, a powerful enchanter, and often set in his castle where a sort of school for enchanters exists (long, mind you, before Hogwarths existed).  Also set in a magical educational environment are The Dark Lord of Derkholm and The Year of the Griffin, both of which show Jones at her most playfulness when it comes to fantasy land tourists.  And since tourists need guidebooks Jones saw to it that there was one — the hilarious and spot-on The Tough Guide to Fantasyland.

I love reading aloud to my class “Chair Person” and “The Four Grannies” from Stopping for a Spell and loved, for their similar domesticity The Ogre Downstairs, Archer’s Goon, and Eight Days of LukeHexwood, more science-fiction-y than many of her works, is terrific too.  And I love knowing that there are still many I have not read.  It is reassuring that this extraordinary writer will stay alive for readers through her most wonderful and wondrous works.

Also at Huffington Post

16 Comments

Filed under Fantasy, Huffington Post

16 responses to “Diana Wynne Jones: An Appreciation

  1. Pingback: thank you, ms. jones | lis.dom

  2. Tiny correction: the wonderful fire demon is Calcifer, not Lucifer.

    Diana was a friend: I’m feeling too sad right now for anything more than tiny corrections.

    Like

  3. I know, even though I was expecting it it is still such a blow! Howl’s Moving Castle is one I must have read ten times at least; another particular favorite is Fire and Hemlock; but really I have read almost ALL of her books multiple times!…

    Like

  4. Pingback: The saddest news « English 387: Studies in Children's Literature

  5. As I said on FaceBook–Diana made me laugh. SHe made me think. And today, she made me weep.

    R.I.P., dear friend.

    Jane

    Like

  6. Thank you for posting this. Diana Wynne Jones was a huge influence on me, and I’m very sad she’s gone.

    Like

  7. Pingback: R.I.P. Diana Wynne Jones | ~Whimsical Pictures~

  8. Thank you. This is lovely.

    Like

  9. A lovely remembrance. One other correction, though: her last name was Jones, not Wynne Jones.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Monica Edinger: Diana Wynne Jones: An Appreciation | Blog Of The Year

  11. Pingback: Diana Wynne Jones (via Other People’s Ideas) | The Calculable

  12. Pingback: Misrule

  13. Pingback: In Comes April — Here in the Bonny Glen

  14. Pingback: The One and Only Diana Wynne Jones | educating alice

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.