Christopher Paul Curtis’s The Madman of Piney Woods

I was on the 2008 Newbery Committee that honored Christopher Paul Curtis’s Elijah of Buxton so I was both eager and nervous to read its companion, The Madman of Piney Woods.  Eager because I so admired the first book, and nervous because you just never know. Happily, I was delighted with the book and those at the Horn Book  Magazine where I reviewed it agreed with me, starring it. I concluded my review (which you can read here) thus: “Woven throughout this profoundly moving yet also at times very funny novel are themes of family, friendship, community, compassion, and, fittingly, the power of words.”

 

3 Comments

Filed under Review

3 responses to “Christopher Paul Curtis’s The Madman of Piney Woods

  1. You liked it much more than I did, but I still really enjoyed your review!

    Like

  2. Christopher Paul Curtis is my hero. This is near the top of my to-read pile.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.