In the Classroom: Adam Gidwitz’s A Tale Dark and Grimm

At Dalton we do a major study of Cinderella that culminates with the children writing their own stories. This year, after meeting him last summer, I invited Adam Gidwitz, author of A Tale Dark and Grimm (a book I’ve already raved about here and elsewhere) to come and work with the classes on these stories in January.  I began reading the book aloud in September and last week when I introduced the unit by asking  “What is a fairy tale?” the children’s answers (in the comments) made it evident that it had made a very strong impression.  On Monday instead of my reading the last chapter to my class Adam did.  You can see a video of Adam reading and interacting with the kids (and he learned all their names in about two seconds!) here.   Not only does it show what a charismatic individual Adam is, but it also shows how strongly the book resonates with this age group.   I can’t wait for him to return to work with my students on their stories!

1 Comment

Filed under In the Classroom

One response to “In the Classroom: Adam Gidwitz’s A Tale Dark and Grimm

  1. Pingback: A Grimm Trailer « educating alice

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.