The Boy in the Striped Pajamas Film

I was not a fan of the book, The Boy in the Striped Pajamas. I’ve written here before of my family background (both sides of the family were German Jews and some, notably my grandfather, did not leave and were deported and killed) and my reservations about introducing the Holocaust to young children.  I found Bruno’s naivete not credible and his mangling of words such as Fury for Fuhrer annoying (as it made no sense in German).  However, films based on books can be very different so I am willing to consider that this movie may work.  Mind you, I’m skeptical (as I am also NOT a fan of another allegorical Holocaust film Life is Beautiful), but I am willing to wait and see.  One thing I am glad to see in the trailer is that Bruno is eight rather than ten so his innocence is a tad more possible.  I can’t tell too much more yet from the trailer. We’ll see.

3 Comments

Filed under Holocaust

3 responses to “The Boy in the Striped Pajamas Film

  1. Pingback: The Wisdom of Eight Year Olds « educating alice

  2. lubna

    this is the best book i have ever read :)

    cant wait 2 see the movie :P

    it is a very god novel
    hope the movie is better but.

    i hope others enjoyed it

    xO

    Like

  3. I’m glad that I was not the only one who didn’t care for this title. You are right about the word mangling. I knew there was something that annoyed me. Might look at the movie just to see if it would work for our 8th grade unit on the Holocaust.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.