Suzy’s Books

Over the years I’ve been mixed about Wes Anderson’s movies, liking some very much and feeling neutral about others, and so I went yesterday to see his latest, Moonrise Kingdom, with no great expectations despite all the glowing reviews.  Well, I can say now that I was completely smitten. Of the many aspects of the film that charmed me, the children’s literature connections were of particular interest. I just loved the Peter Pan references as well as the delightful imaginary books that Suzy, one of the two protagonists, lugs along on their journey. Fascinated by the verisimilitude of these, I looked around and discovered that Anderson had them animated. Absolutely delightful.

Leave a comment

Filed under Other

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.