Teaching with Blogs: Podcasting Literary Salons

A favorite weekly event in my classroom is Literary Salon. A couple of kids bring in baked treats, I provide juice, and a bunch of the kids do prepared readings from books they are reading or have recently finished.

We all love it. Yes, they love the treats, but they also genuinely love both reading aloud and listening to each other. Every child participates. Because they prepare the readings ahead of time there is none of the halting-stumbling-over-words that occurs in round-robin reading (which I hate and never do). Some of the best readings come from some of the weakest readers because they’ve taken the most time to prepare.

One lovely result is that children become intrigued by the readings and eagerly go off to find the books in question to read. The cross-pollination is delightful! With the introduction of our blogs we’ve been able to podcast these events. So far we’ve done two. Please do check them out here and here. (And comment please — the kids are so eager for comments!)

Yesterday we did a very special Literary Salon. Poet Natasha Trethewey had come a few weeks ago to inspire the children to write Amistad poems. And yesterday they recited those poems to her. You can see their poems here and hear their recitations here.

7 Comments

Filed under Learning About Africa, Reading, Teaching, Writing

7 responses to “Teaching with Blogs: Podcasting Literary Salons

  1. thanks for sharing your classroom ideas. I just e-mailed all my teachers with your post, what a great idea!!

    Like

  2. kinderny

    I just did another round of comments. The blog that was locked, now allows comments so I think I got everyone. It might be interesting for commenters if a very careful dialogue* could happen- otherwise it is like commenting in a vacuum.

    e.g. I thought the villain was believable or I agree that was a weakness in the book.

    Like

  3. What a wonderful idea. I really love your mention of the weaker reader preparing so that they perform well. This is a fine example of the aspect of authenticity that suggests that there be an audience beyond the teacher for the product of work produced by students. Responsibility for learning shifts from belonging only to the teacher to belonging mainly to the student. I want to share this idea with my English Language Arts methods students. Bravo!!!

    Like

  4. Pingback: A Library By Any Other Name » Blog Archive

  5. VWB

    Great stuff as you can see from above. Thanks for sharing so we all can benefit

    Like

  6. Would you be interested in ARC of my debut YA novel, Total Constant Order? Let me know and I’ll mail you a copy.

    –crissa

    Like

  7. Pingback: Jabberwocky Part 1 « educating alice

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.