Ratty, Mole, and Toad All Together Again?

Again, again?  But certainly interesting.

From PW’s Children’s Bookshelf:

Laura Godwin at Henry Holt has bought a sequel to Kenneth Grahame’s classic novel The Wind in the Willows, with the working title of The Willows Redux. It will be written by Newbery Honor author Jacqueline Kelly (The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate), and illustrated by Clint G. Young, who has a debut picture book under contract at Feiwel & Friends. Publication is scheduled for fall 2012, the same time as a Wind in the Willows movie, though the projects are not related. Kelly was represented by Marcy Posner of Folio Literary on an earlier deal for the text; Erin Murphy of Erin Murphy Literary Agency represented Young.

3 Comments

Filed under Other

3 responses to “Ratty, Mole, and Toad All Together Again?

  1. Carol Niederalnder

    I cannot wait to see this book! Do you have any idea whether or not the structure of the original book, alternating “meditative” chapters with adventurous ones (mainly re Toad) will be followed? Wind in the Willows is one of my two most favorite children’s books, the other being Alice In Wonderland/Through the Looking Glass. But a sequel is a great idea, IF it can be made anything like as thoughtful and insightful as the original. If the sequel is all “adventures,” though, it will miss the most critical aspects of Grahame’s work.

    Like

  2. I’m such a skeptic – this horrifies me! I LOVE the Wind in the Willows – it’s one of the books that first got me started studying children’s literature, actually – and the idea of sequel(s) makes me nervous. And even though I like the ideas behind Jan Needle’s *The Wild Wood,* when I tried to read it I felt too upset to continue. So this news makes me nervous and sad. Not everything needs a sequel.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.