Remembering Harry: At Carnegie Hall with J. K. Rowling

I was very fortunate today to be invited by Scholastic to attend J. K. Rowling’s morning reading at Carnegie Hall. 1600 school kids were there, 40 kids from 40 schools. They were justifiably excited and so was I!

Rowling read the chapter in the final book where Harry said good-bye to the Dursleys. It was just very cool to hear her read live, her very own words. She’s a very good reader!

After that she answered a bunch of questions from kids. They were all excellent and sadly I didn’t take notes so you will have to rely on others for the details. One friend, GraceAnne DeCandido did take excellent notes and sent an excellent overview to the Leaky Cauldron. (In the second part of this post.) I’m sure there will be many more reports before long.

It was a thrilled to be there. I’m saving my golden ticket!

2 Comments

Filed under Harry Potter

2 responses to “Remembering Harry: At Carnegie Hall with J. K. Rowling

  1. it may be fantastic hearing her read her book but have you thought deaply about her books and how sexist she is against women. i am writng an essay for my degree on how she portrays women in a very negitive way.

    Like

  2. please comment on my blog http://misslittle.uniblogs.org to tell me what you think. all comments welcome

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.