Matilda the Musical on Broadway


IMG_0811

Last night a bunch of us children’s lit types (that’s Betsy Bird above) were fortunate enough to be invited to the second preview of the new Broadway show Matilda the Musical. Having loved the London production I saw last August I was curious what this one would be like and I’m happy to report that it is just as good. In particular, Sophia Gennusa, for whom last night was her very first as Matilda, was outstanding.  As in London, the kids stole the show; they are absolutely remarkable, every single one of them. For me standouts among the adults included Bertie Carvel as Miss Trunchbull (he was gone by the time I saw the London production), Lauren Ward (who shocked me as she seemed exactly like the Miss Honey I’d seen I London and then I read that she WAS the same person,)  and Gabriel Ebert –new to the show–as an incredibly supple, slippery, and somehow still appealing-at-the-very-end Mr. Wormwood.

I feel the same about it as when I first saw it last summer when I wrote:

 The heart of Dahl’s book is maintained beautifully with some lovely adjustments that simply strengthen it overall for the stage. Say a lovely running theme of Matilda’s storytelling prowess along with a new character who is a librarian.

Thank you, Penguin Young Readers, so much for inviting us.

Here’s the television spot:

And here is another promotional video I posted once before, but am again because I like it so much:

7 Comments

Filed under Other

7 responses to “Matilda the Musical on Broadway

  1. Oh my goodness! I was excited to go before but now I just can’t wait. What could be better than Broadway and Matilda put together!?

    Like

  2. travels with mary

    I cannot wait to see this!

    Like

  3. Roxanne

    Although Lauren was the original Miss Honey in UK (in Stratford and the 1st 6 months of London), the role has been played since last April by Haley Flaherty, so this is who you would have seen last August. Their interpretations of the role are quite similar though!

    Like

  4. Hitty Sevashteen

    Thanks for sharing this. However, the librarian, Mrs Phelps, is not a new character. She appears in the novel, the film, and the West End production.

    Like

  5. I saw it Friday and thought it needed editing. It was over two and a half hours long and I thought it felt very slow most of the time. It’s still in preview. It can be fixed. My advice: shorten some of the songs. Make the point and get out. Kids were falling asleep in the audience when I saw it. Agree with you about the impressive acting, though. I’d give it a B. On the other hand, saw Motown on Saturday and it was just as long – but it zipped along. I wouldn’t cut a minute from it.

    Like

  6. Pingback: » Matilda On Musical

  7. Pingback: Matilda On Musical « Flower Pop Design

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.