Smart Kid Reviews: Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

By the time most of you read this it will be too late to see Grace Lin live this morning on the Today Show for Al Roker’s Book Club for Kids; but no matter, surely the spot will be archived as are the previous authors’ appearances.  Last night, no doubt to distract her from any pre-Al jitters, some of us were invited to meet Grace for dinner which was quite delightful.   And coincidently, one of my 6th grade book bloggers to whom I’d give her book to read has just posted her review.  Here’s what she thinks; if you want to read the whole review (or, better yet, want to leave her a comment) please go here.

I really think that anybody that can read would enjoy this book – it is beautifully written and the illustrations are spectacular! And although it’s about 200 pages, it goes really fast; the end of each chapter draws you into the next. The short stories that the author tells to explain the history of the characters are also really interesting, they give you a little taste of Chinese history and folktale. Although it’s not the same as the classic Wizard of Oz, I believe it’s also a classic, in it’s own special kind of way.

3 Comments

Filed under Review

3 responses to “Smart Kid Reviews: Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon

  1. I wish I could have watched it! It is great for Grace, for books, and for this lovely book in particular!

    On a different note, would it be ok if I linked to this review for my weekly roundup of mg sff/f, and are there any other reviews from your bloggers that I might link to?

    Like

  2. There’s a video of the segment here.

    By all means link to this review. As for others, I’ve a “kid reviews” category you can explore. There’ve been a few the last few week.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire « Heavy Medal: A Mock Newbery Blog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.